Shambhala Mountain Centre

Saturday morning, 9 o’clock. Yeah, road trip! Off to the mountains. Since Friday night, my heart has been leaping with the thought of visiting Shambhala Mountain Center. Once Boulder is behind us, Highway 287 turns into one of those unmistakable slopes that opens our view from a peak to this never-ending rolling wide space. “I’ve never seen anything like this in Europe”, I tell Kat who is sitting next to me finding all of this quite ordinary. We do not even have the word space in my own language, yet here we can feel it everywhere.

Deeper and deeper we dive into this landscape, seeing those beautiful rocks. 2,500 m of height are getting serious, the air is fresh and clear, the wind is strong. Suddenly, we’re there. “Take Great Eastern Sun Road!”, the friendly Shambhalian at the gate advises us. „I will not miss that!“ The smell of pine trees is all around us, small and sturdy flowers, sandy paths, a birch grove, wide open grassland full of sage, tents. We travel on, and between spells of silence I tell K. what I know about Chögyam Trungpa discovering the place, about what he brought with him and why there are tents around. Each of us explores this place, the stupa, for herself. I find something I consider valuable in my pocket for the spot where everyone is supposed to leave something behind. Then I go in and dive into this richly filled silent void.

On our way back we take the highway with all the giant supermarkets, truck rents and commercial areas. But despite all the hugeness, no space will open here; the eye keeps getting caught by the signs, the never-ending space is disrupted.

Visit my Flickr album on:

Shambhala Mountain Center

Samstagmorgen, 9 Uhr. Yeah, ein Roadtrip! Ab in die Berge. Schon am Freitagabend hüpft mein Herz bei dem Gedanken, Shambhala Mountain Center zu besuchen. Kaum haben wir Boulder verlassen, macht der Highway 287 einen dieser unverkennbaren Schwünge, bei denen sich auf einer Kuppe angekommen der plötzliche Blick in diese unendliche hügelige Weite eröffnet. „Das habe ich in Europa so noch nicht gesehen“, sage ich zu Kat, die neben mir sitzend das sehr normal findet. Auch das Wort space gibt es nicht in meiner Sprache, und hier ist es so sehr spürbar.

Wir tauchen immer tiefer ein in die Landschaft, den Blick auf die schönen Felsformationen. Die Höhe von 2.500 m wird spürbar, die Luft ist frisch und so klar, der Wind stark. Plötzlich sind wir da. „Take Great Eastern Sun Road!“, sagt der freundliche Shambhalian am Tor. „I will not miss that!“ Der Duft von Kiefern begleitet uns, kleine kräftige Blumen, sandige Wege, ein Birkenhain, weite Wiesen voller Salbei, Zelte. Wir wandern durch das Land, und ich erzähle K. ab und zu zwischen dem Stillsein, was ich darüber weiß, wie Trungpa den Ort gefunden hat, was er mitgebracht hat und warum hier Zelte stehen. Jede für sich entdeckt den Platz, die Stupa. Für die Stelle, an der alle etwas hinterlassen, finde ich etwas für mich Wertvolles in meiner Tasche. Dann gehe ich hinein und tauche einfach ein in diese reichhaltig gefüllte, leere Stille.

Auf dem Rückweg nehmen wir den Highway, an dem die riesigen Supermärkte, Truck-Rents und commercial areas liegen. Trotz aller Weite eröffnet sich kein space, der Blick bleibt an den Schildern hängen, ist aufgehalten, die unendliche Weite unterbrochen.

Hier geht’s zum Album auf Flickr