A smile is not enough – new data protection when taking photos

On 25 May, a new data protection law will enter into force in the EU, which already considers the recording of a digital image as data collection. The idea behind this is that a photo of a person, e.g. with the help of face recognition, would also reveal their whereabouts.
Analog photography is excluded from this. According to the old case law, there was a clear difference between taking the picture and using it.

It is generally forbidden – without a press card – to take recognizably pictures of persons without their written permission, which must of course also correspond to a certain form. There is criticism of an unreasonable change in the freedom of the press. There will be legal uncertainty from 25 May until the first court rulings provide guidance. The federal government has failed to clothe this EU law in a feasible application.

There are voices that say this does not apply to amateur photographers and refer to Art 2 (2) in which “natural persons for the exercise of exclusively personal or family activities” are excluded from this regulation. I did not understand it that way and would recommend in the near future to refrain from taking pictures of people in public places.

This will affect sports photography or the documentation of events. If you take a picture of your girlfriend who is crossing the finish line at the marathon, there are other people in the picture. Theoretically – this is the legally unresolved space now – you would have to obtain written permission from all passers-by: from the people who happen to be in a wedding photo, visiting a stadium or a concert with you. The DSGVO requires the proof and documentation of this consent.

So if I take a picture of the visitors to the building on Architecture Day, I run the risk that lawyers who earn their money with warning procedures will scan the Internet and I will face a heavy fine if I cannot document the people’s consent.

Article 6(1f) mentions that photography is permitted if the person responsible has a legitimate interest – always with reference to the special protection of fundamental rights, especially for children. This could provide an indication of events.
Legally, I am completely uncertain when I write this: Surely it is a good approach to communicate offensively that photographs are taken and what this is used for and to ask people who do not want to be depicted to show this clearly. If someone is found later on a website and would like to be deleted, deletion is a matter of course. However, a person who has given his written consent can also cancel it at any time.

I’ll try to get more clarity and report back when I know more.

And it is quite certain that many manga and animé fans want to be photographed at Japan Day on May 26, for example, because they have made themselves so beautiful for that. But a smile in the camera is no longer enough for approval. What to do?

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Comments (2)

  1. Gabriela Ostendorfer

    Interesting. When I was in Amsterdam last fall, I was standing in line at a restaurant. A man who was seated very close-by had his camera pointed at me and took a picture. I questioned him and he claimed to be taking a general overview shot, however I felt uncomfortable (Bauchgefühl) and asked him to delete it. He seemed to do so.

    • Hiltrud Enders

      I’m happy you questioned him!
      I have no idea how the law in the Netherlands is right now. This new law is a EU law, but every country has the chance to accept it or just accept it in parts. Sweden and Austria already did that – the german government missed it completely.
      I wrote this article in english, because I know that people from other countries might not be aware of these rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ein Lächeln reicht nicht aus – neuer Datenschutz beim Fotografieren

Am 25. Mai tritt in der EU ein neues Datenschutzgesetz in Kraft, welches die Aufnahme eines digitalen Bildes bereits als Datenerhebung wertet. Die Idee dahinter ist, dass durch ein Foto einer Person z.B. mit Hilfe von Gesichtserkennung auch ihr Aufenthaltsort preisgegeben würde.
Analoge Fotografie ist davon ausgenommen. Nach der alten Rechtssprechung gab es einen deutlichen Unterschied zwischen der Aufnahme des Bildes und der Verwendung.

Es ist grundsätzlich untersagt – ohne Presseausweis – Personen erkennbar zu fotografieren ohne deren schriftliche Einwilligung zu haben, die natürlich auch noch einer gewissen Form entsprechen muss. Kritisiert wird eine unzumutbare Veränderung der Pressefreiheit. Es wird eine rechtliche Unsicherheit geben ab dem 25. Mai bis die ersten Gerichtsurteile eine Handlungsanleitung bieten. Die Bundesregierung hat verpasst dieses EU-Gesetz in eine machbare Anwendung zu kleiden.

Es gibt Stimmen, die sagen für Hobbyfotografen gelte dies nicht und sich auf den Art 2 (2) beziehen in dem „natürliche Personen zur Ausübung ausschließlich persönlicher oder familiärer Tätigkeiten“ von dieser Regelung ausgenommen sind. Ich habe das nicht so verstanden und würde auch in der nächsten Zeit empfehlen davon Abstand zu nehmen Personen im öffentlichen Raum erkennbar abzulichten.

Dies wird die Sportfotografie oder auch die Dokumentation von Veranstaltungen treffen. Machst du ein Foto von deiner Freundin, die gerade beim Marathon ins Ziel läuft, so sind ja auch andere Personen abgebildet. Theoretisch – so ist der rechtlich jetzt ungeklärte Raum – müsstest du von allen Passanten die schriftliche Erlaubnis einholen: von den Personen, die zufällig auf einem Hochzeitsfoto sind, die mit dir gemeinsam ein Stadion oder ein Konzert besuchen. Die DSGVO fordert, den Nachweis und die Dokumentation dieser Zustimmung.

Mache ich also beim Tag der Architektur ein Foto von den Besuchern des Gebäudes, so riskiere ich, dass Anwälte, die ihr Geld mit Abmahnverfahren verdienen, das Internet scannen und ich mit einer empfindlichen Geldstrafe rechnen muss, wenn ich nicht die Zustimmung der Personen dokumentieren kann.

In Artikel 6 Absatz 1f wird davon gesprochen, dass Fotografieren bei einem berechtigten Interesse des Verantwortlichen erlaubt sei – immer mit dem Hinweis auf den besonderen Schutz der Grundrechte insbesondere bei Kindern. Dies könnte ein Hinweis auf Veranstaltungen bieten.
Rechtlich bin ich völlig unsicher, wenn ich dies schreibe: Sicher ist es ein guter Ansatz offensiv zu kommunizieren, dass fotografiert wird und wofür dies verwendet wird und Personen, die nicht abgebildet werden möchten zu bitten, dies deutlich zu zeigen. Findet sich jemand später auf einer Webseite und möchte gelöscht werden, ist das löschen selbstverständlich. Aber auch eine Person, die ihre schriftliche Einwilligung gab, kann diese jederzeit wieder rückgängig machen.

Ich werde versuchen mehr Klarheit zu bekommen und berichte wieder, wenn ich genaueres weiß.

Und ganz sicher ist, dass zum Beispiel beim Japantag am 26. Mai viele Manga- und Animéfans fotografiert werden möchten, denn dafür haben sie sich so schön gemacht. Aber ein Lächeln in die Kamera reicht jetzt als Zustimmung nicht mehr aus. Was tun?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Ergänzung am 7. Mai nach Telefonat mit der Rechtsberatung der Architektenkammer NRW
1 – Fotografieren bei einer Veranstaltung wie etwa dem Tag der Architektur
Sind Personen auf dem Foto abgebildet, so bedarf es (wie vermutet) vor dem Klick eine schriftlichen Zustimmung entsprechend Art. 13. Es gilt also ein Formblatt zu entwickeln auf dem die Person ihre Einwilligung gibt, natürlich mit Name, Datum und Unterschrift, womit noch mehr Daten erhoben werden… Das könnte in etwa so formuliert sein:

Ja, ich stimme zu beim Besuch der Veranstaltung xy fotografiert zu werden. Das Foto darf veröffentlicht (wo?) werden. Ich weiß, dass ich diese Zustimmung widerrufen kann und habe die Information zur Art. 13, der beigelegt sein muss, zur Kenntnis genommen.

2 – Fotografieren im Rahmen der Bauleitung
Im Art. 6 der DGSVO sind Erlaubnistatbestände definiert
Fotografiere ich also auf der Baustelle einen Handwerker, der die Sicherheitsanforderungen nicht einhält und sende dieses Foto an seinen Vorgesetzten, um dies zu dokumentieren, so könnte man sagen, dass dies greift:
Art 3 b „für die Erfüllung meines Vertrages erforderlich“ oder
Art 3 c „für eine rechtliche Verpflichtung erforderlich“
Aber Sicherheit wird die Rechtssprechung bringen.

Kommentare (2)

  1. Gabriela Ostendorfer

    Interesting. When I was in Amsterdam last fall, I was standing in line at a restaurant. A man who was seated very close-by had his camera pointed at me and took a picture. I questioned him and he claimed to be taking a general overview shot, however I felt uncomfortable (Bauchgefühl) and asked him to delete it. He seemed to do so.

    • Hiltrud Enders

      I’m happy you questioned him!
      I have no idea how the law in the Netherlands is right now. This new law is a EU law, but every country has the chance to accept it or just accept it in parts. Sweden and Austria already did that – the german government missed it completely.
      I wrote this article in english, because I know that people from other countries might not be aware of these rules.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.