Why Miksang in Greece?

For a long time I have wanted to offer a workshop that – taught in English – is a possibility for people from different countries. I get inquiries from Scandinavia, France, Greece, Spain or Turkey. Greece is the perfect place to bring everyone together and enjoy the community with our greek  friends, who are carrying a lot of economic pressure on their shoulders, managing everyday life.

Read here the description of the workshop in May 2019 and all details

From many workshops of the Miksang Institute, in which I participated, I know how beautiful the exchange and getting to know people of different cultures can be through the visual language of photography. When I see the pictures of the other participants, the peculiarity of the other person becomes visible. Their sensitivity, poetry, directness or humour.

Last summer we found a wonderful place for the workshop. Methana is two hours by ferry from Piraeus. It is easily accessible. It is restful, people are friendly, the places magical, the gardens lush. Methana used to be a health resort. Unfortunately the official thermal bath is closed at the moment – for economic reasons. Directly at the beach, however, there is a sulphur spring that is accessible to all. Here, one can simply dive for a while into the restful water and enjoy the view over the sea. Methana is a volcanic peninsula at the eastern edge of the Peloponnese. It is very worthwhile to explore the surroundings. Beaches, walks to the volcanoes, small villages, archaeological sites. Epidaurus is about 50 km away.

Gallery of photos 2018

The picture gallery shows my trip to Greece in June 2018. First I visited the Shambhala Art Training on Aegina. I am very grateful to Shambhala Greece, who organized this training.

Afterwards we travelled to Methana. When the ferry arrives at the harbour the usual babble of voices breaks out. After the contemplative journey with the ferry suddenly hurry. As I stand on the pier and look back at the boat, I understand the hectic pace. Methana is such a small mooring that the ferry is not moored at all. The passengers and cars leave the ship while the metal plates glide very very slowly onto the concrete. Respect the captain for this skilful navigation. We spend two days on the peninsula with the clear feeling of wanting to come back.

Gallery of photos 2018

I have (unfortunately) provided almost all pictures of people with a private setting, which can only be reached via a special link, which I unfortunately cannot publish here. A tribute to the uncertainty in dealing with the new European data protection regulation.

Read further in my Blog

Comments (2)

  1. Your photos are heart inspired and heart-inspiring. Am looking forward to joining your Miksang group. Can you please let me know if there is still room for me to register.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Warum Miksang in Griechenland? 

Schon lange möchte ich einen Workshop anbieten, der – in englisch unterrichtet – eine Möglichkeit bietet für Menschen aus verschiedensten Ländern. Ich bekomme Anfragen aus Skandinavien, Frankreich, Griechenland, Spanien oder der Türkei. Nachdem die Arbeit an meinem Buch nun abgeschlossen ist, kann ich dies nun organisieren. Die Sprache im Workshop wird ein sehr einfaches Englisch sein. Für viele ist englisch eine Fremdsparche und die Vermittlung der Übungen und Aufgaben funktioniert ja auch über die Bilder.

Lies hier die Beschreibung des Workshops im Mai 2019 und alle Details

Aus vielen Workshops des Miksang Institute, an denen ich teilnahm, weiß ich wie schön der Austausch und das Kennenlernen Menschen verschiedener Kultur über die Bildsprache der Fotografie sein kann. Sehe ich die Bilder der anderen Teilnehmer_innen, so wird die Eigenart der anderen Person sichtbar. Ihre Feinfühligkeit, seine Poesie, ihre Direktheit oder sein Humor.

 

Mit Methana haben wir im letzten Sommer einen schönen Ort für den Workshop gefunden. Zwei Fährstunden von Piraeus entfernt, ist er leicht erreichbar. Ich fand ihn sofort sehr erholsam, die Menschen freundlich, die Orte zauberhaft, die Gärten üppig. Methana war mal ein Kurort. Leider ist das offizielle Thermalbad im Moment geschlossen – aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen. Direkt am Strand gibt es jedoch eine Schwefelquelle, die allen zugänglich ist. Hier kann man einfach für eine Weile eintauchen in das erholsame Wasser und den Blick übers Meer schweifen lassen. Methana ist eine vulkanische Halbinsel am östlichen Rand des Peleponnes. Es ist sehr lohnenswert die Umgebung zu erkunden. Strände, Wanderungen zu den Vulkane, kleine Orte, archäologische Plätze. Epidaurus ist ungefähr 50 km entfernt.

Galerie der Fotos 2018

Die Bildergalerie zeigt meine Reise nach Griechenland im Juni 2018. Ich besuchte zuerst das Shambhala Art Training auf Aegina. (Mein Dank an Shambhala Greece, die dieses Training organisierten.)

Anschließend reisten wir nach Methana. Als die Fähre am Hafen anlegt bricht das übliche Stimmengewirr aus. Nach der beschaulichen Reise mit der Fähre plötzlich Beeilung. Als ich auf dem Pier stehe und zurück schaue auf das Boot, verstehe ich die Hektik. Methana ist eine solch kleine Anlegestelle, dass die Fähre gar nicht festgemacht wird. Die Passagiere und Autos verlassen das Schiff während die Metallplatten sehr langsam auf den Beton gleiten. Respekt dem Kapitän für dieses geschickte Navigation. Wir verbringen zwei Tage auf der Halbinsel und genießen die Ruhe, die freundlichen Menschen mit dem deutlichen Gefühl wiederkommen zu wollen.

Galerie der Fotos 2018

Ich habe (leider) fast alle Bilder von Personen mit einem privaten Setting versehen, was nur über einen speziellen Link erreichbar ist, den ich leider hier nicht veröffentlichen kann. Eine Hommage an die Unsicherheit im Umgang mit der neuen europäischen Datenschutzverordnung.

Lies gerne weiter in meinem Blog

Kommentare (2)

  1. Your photos are heart inspired and heart-inspiring. Am looking forward to joining your Miksang group. Can you please let me know if there is still room for me to register.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.